The Norwegian Piano Trio are three Scandinavian soloists with strong individuality and a pronounced sense of style. Together - and individually - they stand up for the music of their country and for neglected female composers. The starting point for her Heidelberg debut is the piece "The Darkened Room" written for her by Norwegian Marcus Paus, which was created in 2023 on Spitsbergen during icy snowstorms in the magical Northern Lights. The trio members then move in a Nordic tone in the violin romance by Borghild Holmsen and the piano idyll by Agatha Backer Grøndahl. The breathtaking piece "Solitude" by French artist Rita Strohl is certainly a discovery. A ballade by Chopin and Rachmaninov's "Trio élégiaque" round off the exciting programme as more well-known works.

+ 7 minutes
The "plus" in the concert: In a 7-minute discussion excursus, characteristic, sometimes curious aspects of the programme are picked out or exciting phenomena in the context of the works are highlighted.

Also available as subscription

Norwegian piano trio

Åse Mathiesen

Catharina Chen

Sandra Lied Haga

Marcus Paus
The Darkened Room

Nadia Boulanger
Trois pièces for violoncello and piano

Jennifer Higdon
"Pale Yellow" (from: Piano Trio)

Borghild Holmsen
Romance op. 3 for violin and piano

Frédéric Chopin
Ballade No. 1 in G minor op. 23 for piano

Agatha Backer Grøndahl
Idyll op. 24/5

Rita Strohl
"Solitude" for piano trio

Sergei Rachmaninov
Trio élégiaque No. 1 in G minor