Liedakademie


This is where the Lied scene of tomorrow meets! At the heart of the Liedakademie are the master classes with Artistic Director Thomas Hampson. Concert performances in Berlin and Heidelberg and professional coaching round off the year-round support program for young singers and pianists.

What began in 2011 as a highly condensed course offering as part of the Heidelberger Frühling Musikfestival has developed into a year-round support program for young singers and pianists from all over the world. The master classes with the Artistic Director of the Academy Thomas Hampson will take place as part of the total of four work phases of the Liedakademie in Berlin and Heidelberg, some of which will be held publicly in front of an audience and via livestream. In addition, the young artists can be experienced in performances, some with specially curated programs, in Berlin’s Pierre Boulez Hall and at the Liedfestival in Heidelberg.

A wide variety of coaching, workshop and discussion formats with different lecturers provide inspiring professional impulses and help to reflect on one’s own artistic work. Get-Togethers and free attendance at concerts of the Heidelberger Frühling Lied Festival round out the year-round support program. They enable the scholarship holders to establish lasting contacts and become part of the dense network of the Liedzentrum.

In recent years, innovative projects have emerged from the Liedakademie, such as the staged Lied.Lab DIA_LOG and the short film project LIED ME! In addition, many former scholarship holders such as Nadine Sierra, Benjamin Appl and Elsa Dreisig have gone on to successful and impressive careers.


Scholarship Holders 2022/23

Stipendiat*innen 2022/2023

143 talented pianists and singers from all over the world applied online for the 2022/23 year of the Liedakademie. Of the 45 who were allowed to present their skills at the auditions in Heidelberg, 11 were accepted into the high-caliber, year-round sponsorship program.

Mira Alkhovic Soprano
Alla Belova Piano
Josua Bernbeck Baritone
Gerrit Illenberger Baritone
David Kennedy Baritone
Cole Knutson Piano
Lyla Levy-Jordan Mezzo-soprano/Alto
Birita Poulsen Soprano
Jonas Müller Baritone
Jakob Schad Bass baritone/Bass
Nadine Süssenbach Mezzo-soprano/Alto
Yuriko Watanabe Piano

Audition & Module I
October 11-15, 2022, Heidelberg

Module II
January 16-22, 2023
Schubert Week, Pierre Boulez Saal, Berlin*
The Workshops and the Closing Concert are streamed live.

Module III
April 20-23, 2023, Heidelberg

Module IV
June 11 – 17, 2023, Liedfestival 2023, Heidelberg


*Modul III in cooperation with the Pierre Boulez Saal Berlin

Liedakademie


Hier trifft sich die Lied-Szene von Morgen! Im Mittelpunkt der Lied Akademie stehen die Meisterklassen mit dem Künstlerischen Leiter Thomas Hampson. Konzertauftritte in Berlin und Heidelberg und berufsvorbereitende Coachings runden das ganzjährige Förderprogramm für junge Sänger*innen und Pianist*innen ab.

Was 2011 als hoch verdichtetes Kursangebot im Rahmen des Heidelberger Frühling Musikfestivals begann, hat sich zu einem ganzjährigen Förderprogramm für junge Sänger*innen und Pianist*innen aus aller Welt entwickelt. Die Meisterklassen mit dem Künstlerischen Leiter der Akademie Thomas Hampson finden im Rahmen der insgesamt vier Arbeitsphasen der Liedakademie in Berlin und Heidelberg zum Teil öffentlich vor Publikum und im Livestream statt. Darüber hinaus sind die jungen Künstler*innen bei Auftritten mit zum Teil eigens kuratierten Programmen im Berliner Pierre Boulez Saal und beim Liedfestival in Heidelberg zu erleben.

Unterschiedlichste Coaching-, Workshop- und Diskussionsformate mit unterschiedlichen Dozent*innen setzen inspirierende fachliche Impulse und helfen, das eigene künstlerische Wirken zu reflektieren. Get-Togethers und der kostenlose Besuch von Konzerten des Heidelberger Frühling Liedfestivals runden das ganzjährige Förderprogramm ab. Sie ermöglichen den Stipendiat*innen, nachhaltige Kontakte zu knüpfen und Teil des dichten Netzwerkes des Liedzentrums zu werden.

Aus der Liedakademie heraus haben sich in den letzten Jahren innovative Projekte entwickelt wie das inszenierte Lied.Lab DIA_LOG und das Kurzfilmprojekt LIED ME!. Darüber hinaus gehen viele ehemalige Stipendiat*innen wie Nadine Sierra, Benjamin Appl oder Elsa Dreisig einen erfolgreichen und beeindruckenden Karriereweg.


Jahrgang 2022/23

Stipendiat*innen 2022/2023

143 talentierte Pianist*innen und Sänger*innen aus der ganzen Welt hatten sich online für den Jahrgang 2022/23 der Liedakademie beworben. Von den 45, die bei den Auditions in Heidelberg ihr Können präsentieren durften, wurden 11 in das hochkarätige ganzjährige Förderprogramm aufgenommen.

Mira Alkhovic Sopran
Alla Belova Klavier
Josua Bernbeck Bariton
Gerrit Illenberger Bariton
David Kennedy Bariton
Cole Knutson Klavier
Lyla Levy-Jordan Mezzosopran/Alt
Birita Poulsen Sopran
Jonas Müller Bariton
Jakob Schad Bassbariton/Bass
Nadine Süssenbach Mezzosopran/Alt
Yuriko Watanabe Klavier

Audition & Modul I
11. bis 15. Oktober 2022, Heidelberg

Modul II
16. bis 22. Januar 2023
Schubert Woche, Pierre Boulez Saal, Berlin*

Modul III
20. – 23. April 2023, Heidelberg

Modul IV
11. bis 17. Juni 2023, Liedfestival 2023, Heidelberg


*Modul III findet in Kooperation mit dem Pierre Boulez Saal Berlin statt.