The Heidelberger Frühling Wettbewerb “Das Lied” was launched in 2009 by Thomas Quasthoff and within a very short time has established itself as one of the most important singing competitions worldwide. The goal is to promote great song singers of the younger generation. It also offers the opportunity for audiences, organizers, festivals and agencies to discover the voices of tomorrow. In addition to prize money of 40,000 euros, the prize winners will be given concerts in internationally renowned concert halls. Previously based in Berlin, the competition is organized by the Heidelberger Frühling Liedzentrum since 2017. After the cancellation of the 2021 competition due to the pandemic, promising singing talents from all over the world will once again come together in Heidelberg from March 1 to 5, 2023.



From a total of 131 applications from all over the world, 38 singers and 33 piano partners from 20 different nations – from Italy to South Korea, Australia and the USA to Brazil – were admitted to participate in the 2023 competition.

The competition repertoire includes selected songs by Aribert Reimann, Robert Schumann, Franz Schubert and Viktor Ullmann. The First Round will be held on March 1 and March 2, followed by the semifinal on March 3 and the final and prize ceremony on March 5.

Admission is free for students, trainees and pupils. All competition rounds will be broadcast via free livestream on Facebook and the website.




We thank

Den Gesangsnachwuchs von morgen entdecken!

Der Heidelberger Frühling Wettbewerb „Das Lied” wurde 2009 von Thomas Quasthoff ins Leben gerufen und hat sich innerhalb kürzester Zeit zu einem der wichtigsten Gesangswettbewerbe weltweit etabliert. Ziel ist es, große Liedsänger*innen der jungen Generation zu fördern. Er bietet ebenfalls die Möglichkeit für Publikum, Veranstalter, Festivals und Agenturen, die Stimmen von morgen zu entdecken. Neben Preisgeldern in Höhe von 40.000 Euro werden den Preisträger*innen Konzerte in international renommierten Konzerthäusern vermittelt. Vorher in Berlin beheimatet, wird der Wettbewerb seit 2017 vom Heidelberger Frühling Liedzentrum veranstaltet. Nach der pandemiebedingten Absage des Wettbewerbs 2021 kommen vom 1. bis 5. 3. 2023 wieder vielversprechende Gesangstalente aus der ganzen Welt in Heidelberg zusammen.



Aus insgesamt 131 Bewerbungen aus der ganzen Welt wurden 38 Sänger*innen und 33 Klavierpartner*innen aus 20 verschiedenen Nationen – von Italien über Südkorea, Australien und USA bis Brasilien – für die Teilnahme am Wettbewerb 2023 zugelassen.

Das Wettbewerbsrepertoire umfasst ausgewählte Lieder von Aribert Reimann, Robert Schumann, Franz Schubert und Viktor Ullmann. Die erste Runde findet am 1. März und 2. März statt, gefolgt vom Semifinale am 3. März und dem Finale mit Preisverleihung am 5. März.

Für Studierende und Schüler*innen ist der Eintritt frei. Alle Wettbewerbsrunden werden per kostenlosem Livestream auf Facebook und der Website übertragen.




Wir danken