When it comes to the origins of "Tango Nuevo", there is almost always only one name mentioned: Astor Piazzolla. However, the ensemble SONICO, founded in Brussels in 2015, contrasts this with another pioneer of modern, avant-garde tango, the Argentine Eduardo Rovira. If Piazzolla caused a sensation with his Octeto Buenos Aires from 1955, Rovira did the same a year later with the Octeto La Plata. Among the innovations of the latter was the creative fusion of the popular roots of tango with classical music. Unlike Piazzolla, however, Rovira left no commercial recordings. SONICO makes the compositions audible again in the original octet instrumentations.

Concert without a break. Followed by artist talk with Anselm Cybinski in the Festivalzentrum

10% discount for RNZettKarte holders at this concert plus one accompanying person, at all RNZ VVK points, cannot be combined with other discounts, regular daily RNZ subscription required.


Lysandre Donoso

Carmela Delgado

Stephen Meyer

Daniel Hurtado Jimenez

Bartosz Korus

Guillaume Lagravière

Alejandro Black

Ariel Eberstein
Double bass

Ivo De Greef

Arrangements by Eduardo Rovira for the Octeto La Plata
Nonino (Astor Piazzolla)
Tango del Ángel (Astor Piazzolla)
A Horacio Paz (Enrique Lannoo)
Nostálgico (Julián Plaza)
A los Amigos (Armando Pontier)
Preludio de la guitarra abandonada (Eduardo Rovira)
Melancólico Buenos Aires (Astor Piazzolla)

Arrangements by Astor Piazzolla for the Octeto Buenos Aires
Marrón y Azul (Astor Piazzolla)
Taconeando (Pedro Maffia)
Arrabal (José Pascual)
Tierra Querida (Julio De Caro)
Los Mareados (Juan Carlos Cobian)
El Entrerriano (Rosendo Mendizábal)
Tango - Ballet (Astor Piazzolla)

We thank