Half day ticket 14-18 h incl. Workshop with Oliver Wille at 2 pm.

In addition to early works by Mozart and a look at a more recent time period with György Kurtág, the afternoon with Chaos String Quartet concludes with the "Hoffmeister Quartet": it got its name from its unusual publication history. While quartets were usually published in cycles at the time, publisher Anton Hoffmeister saw an opportunity to break new ground due to Mozart's growing popularity and publish his quartet together with – how could it be otherwise – a quartet by Joseph Haydn. Mozart's work captivates with its pastose overall sound, in which all four instruments create the melody equally, which was a novelty for the time.

Concert with intermission
Duration approx. 1.5 hours

Chaos String Quartet

String quartet

Susanne Schäffer

Eszter Kruchió

Sara Marzadori

Bas Jongen

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Introit and Kyrie from the "Requiem" (arr. Peter Lichtenthal)
String Quartet in F major KV 158 "4th Milanese Quartet

Joseph Haydn
Finale from the String Quartet in F minor op. 20/5

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
String Quartet in F major KV 168 "1st Viennese Quartet"

György Kurtág
Officium breve in memoriam Andreae Szervánszky op. 28

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
String Quartet in D major KV 499 "Hoffmeister Quartet"