Cuarteto Casals
The Art of the Fugue

Cuarteto Casals

With his "Art of Fugue" Johann Sebastian Bach created one of the most important works in music history. In 14 fugues and four canons, he systematically demonstrates the wide range of contrapuntal possibilities that can be found in a single musical theme. In order to make the voice progressions visually clear, Bach notated each part on a separate staff. Sonically, its movement of up to four voices comes across most clearly through a string quartet. The renowned Spanish Cuarteto Casals also uses light baroque bows, with which the articulatory subtleties can be particularly well realized.

The concert is part of the focus point "Visionaries".

Concert without intermission
Duration approx. 75 minutes

Cuarteto Casals

String quartet

Vera Martínez Mehner, Abel Tomàs Realp

Jonathan Brown

Arnau Tomàs

Johann Sebastian Bach
Die Kunst der Fuge BWV 1080: Fugue 1, 2, 3 & 4, Duos 14 & 15, Fugue 5, 6, 7 & 9, Fugue 10 & 11, Trios 8 & 13, Duos 16 & 17, Fugue 12, 18 & Choral