Opening concert: Camerata RCO
Brahms: in Mozart's footsteps

Court music director Johannes Brahms? Before his great time in Vienna, the Hamburg-born artist had actually been there once, namely in 1857-59, in each case for the winter months, at the Lippe princely court in Detmold. His Serenade op. 11 was also written there in 1857 – in chamber music instrumentation. Although the work has survived only in the later version for large orchestra, the Argentine composer and conductor Jorge Rotter has reconstructed the original version for nine solo instruments. The Camerata RCO, composed of members of the renowned Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, combines the charming Serenade with the Czech Suite by Brahms protégé Antonín Dvořák, also "scaled down."

Introduction: Musical Sunday on Sunday, 10 March, 11:00 at the DAI Heidelberg

Camerata RCO

Members of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Thorsten Schmidt


Intendant Thorsten Schmidt

Johannes Brahms
Serenade No. 1 in D major op. 11 (original version reconstructed by J. Rotter)

Antonín Dvořák
Czech Suite in D major op. 39 in the version for octet

Johannes Brahms
Serenade No. 1 in D major op. 11

We thank