Pavel Haas Quartet. Pavel Nikl
Brahms: melancholic cheerfulness

Founded in 2002, the Pavel Haas Quartet is considered one of the most spirited ensembles of its kind. For the performance of the two magnificent Brahms string quintets in one evening – an event of rarity value – the Czechs bring in their former violist Pavel Nikl as an authentic fifth voice. While Brahms described the lyrical F major quintet of 1882 as a "spring product," he planned in the meantime to complete his oeuvre after the more orchestral G major work (1890). An exciting discovery is the string quartet by the Czech Vítězslava Kaprálová, who died in 1940 at the age of only 25: the work would have deserved a permanent place in the chamber music repertoire.

16:00 Senate Hall, Old University
Notenschlüssel: Concert introduction with Marcus Imbsweiler (made possible by the Freundeskreis Heidelberger Frühling e.V.)

Pavel Haas Quartet

String quartet

Veronika Jarůšková

Marek Zwiebel

Šimon Truszka

Peter Jarůšek

Pavel Nikl


Vítězslava Kaprálová
String Quartet op. 8

Johannes Brahms
String Quintet No. 1 in F major op. 88
String Quintet No. 2 in G major op. 1