Renaud Capucon fotografiert von Marco Borggreve

Here, two exceptional figures from the classical music scene come together: Renaud Capuçon and Igor Levit. The program is equally exceptional: it was Johann Sebastian Bach who, in his violin sonatas, for the first time and for posterity, ensured the musical equality of the key instrument with the violin. Ferruccio Busoni and César Franck audibly drew on the Baroque master in their respective sonatas, but also drew on Beethoven and Franz Liszt's late Romantic piano style.

Concert with intermission
Duration approx. 1.5 hours

Renaud Capuçon


Igor Levit


Johann Sebastian Bach
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 5 in F minor BWV 1018

Ferruccio Busoni
Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 2 in E minor op. 36 a

César Franck
Sonata for violin and piano A major

We thank the sponsor of the opening weekend