Beyond the Moldova
2023 is the silver wedding anniversary: the "marriage of four" of the Bennewitz Quartet has lasted 25 years. Named after Antonín Bennewitz, the formative figure of the Bohemian violin school in the late 19th century, the four gentlemen from Prague feel committed to the intimate, warm string sound of their homeland – the best example of how noble traditions can endure even in the globalized present. Three quartets by great Czechs are on the programme in Heidelberg. Particularly exciting: the comparison of the first two contributions to the genre by Bohuslav Martinů and Erwin Schulhoff, composed in 1918 and 1924 respectively. While Martinů almost playfully takes his measure from Debussy and Ravel, his colleague four years younger combines expressive passion with a neo-Saxon sense of the grotesque and sarcastic.

+ 7 minutes
The "plus" in the concert: in a 7-minute discussion excursus, characteristic, sometimes curious aspects of the program are singled out or exciting phenomena are highlighted in the context of the works.

Concert with intermission
Duration approx. 2 hours

Also available by subscription

Bennewitz Quartet

String quartet

Jakub Fišer

Štěpán Ježek

Jiří Pinkas

Štěpán Doležal

Erwin Schulhoff
Streichquartett Nr. 1

Bohuslav Martinů
Streichquartett Nr. 1 „Französisches“

Antonín Dvořák
Streichquartett Nr. 11 C-Dur op. 61

In cooperation with the University of Heidelberg