De la Vega. Ortega Quero. Kloeckner. Gallardo

The emancipated wind players
Four outstanding international soloists survey the amazing spectrum of woodwind chamber music between about 1750 and 1850 – a very appealing repertoire rarely encountered in concert life. Johann Sebastian Bach's Trio Sonata in C minor forms the conclusion of the famous "Musical Offering," which the Thomaskantor put together in 1747 after visiting Frederick the Great in Potsdam. Joseph Haydn wrote his gallant "London Trios" – originally conceived for two transverse flutes - in 1794 in England for a landed nobleman dabbling on the instrument. The trios by Johann Nepomuk Hummel and Ignaz Moscheles are much more demanding: the wind instruments now make the grand gestures of the Romantic virtuoso age their own.

+ 7 minutes
The "plus" in the concert: in a 7-minute discussion excursus, characteristic, sometimes curious aspects of the program are singled out or exciting phenomena are highlighted in the context of the works.

This concert will take place within the Heidelberger Frühling Musikfestival 2024.

Concert with intermission
Duration approx. 2 hours

Also available by subscription

Ana de la Vega


Ramón Ortega Quero


Benedict Kloeckner


José Gallardo


Joseph Haydn
Trio No. 1 in C major Hob. IV/1

Robert Schumann
Romance No. 1 from op. 94

Clara Schumann
Romances op. 22

Johann Nepomuk Hummel
Trio in A major op. 78

Johann Sebastian Bach
Trio Sonata in C minor BWV 1079

Robert Schumann
Fantasy pieces op. 73

Ignaz Moscheles
Concertante in F major

In cooperation with the University of Heidelberg