Music for cheerful and convivial occasions characterises this first concert with musicians from the Festivalcampus-Ensemble. The ingenious Felix Mendelssohn wrote his famous Octet for Strings in 1825 as a 16-year-old for Sunday music in his parents' hospitable home in Berlin. Josef Bohuslav Foerster, the Czech, rescued the atmosphere of courtly serenades of the 18th century into early modernity with his eloquent Wind Quintet of 1909. Artful stylisation also in the work of Isang Yun, the Korean composer, who in 1985 had the solo violin imitate the lute of a bird with a distinctly Asian tongue.

The concert is part of the focus point "Ideal Ensembles".

Concert without intermission
Duration approx. 70min

Charlotte Thiele



Isang Yun
„Das Vögelchen“ aus „Li-Na im Garten“ für Violine solo

Josef Bohuslav Foerster
Bläserquintett D-Dur op. 95

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Oktett in Es-Dur op. 20

We thank the sponsor of the opening weekend
We thank the supporter of the Festivalcampus-Ensemble