Hemsing. Várdai. Volodin
Brahms: Confessions for three

The Russian-Norwegian-Hungarian piano trio unites three soloists of strong individuality and distinct stylistic sensibility. Two weighty works are at the center of her program: Brahms's last piano trio in C minor, written in the summer of 1886 on the shores of Lake Thun, strikes alternately fatefully serious and lovely tones. In contrast, Dmitri Shostakovich's harrowing E minor Trio, which the composer dedicated in 1944 to the memory of his friend Ivan Sollertinsky, who died at an early age, is completely filled with sadness and tragedy. Thus, the contrast to the light colors in Benjamin Britten and Karol Szymanowski is all the greater.

Alexei Volodin


Eldbjørg Hemsing


István Várdai


Benjamin Britten
Sonata in C major for violoncello and piano op. 65

Johannes Brahms
Piano Trio No. 3 in C minor op. 101

Karol Szymanowski
Mythes op. 30 - Three poems for violin and piano

Dmitri Shostakovich
Piano Trio No. 2 in E minor op. 67