Quatuor Ardeo
Goldberg Variations

Mo 27. 3. 2023
19.30 Uhr
Aula of Alte Universität Heidelberg
Quatuor Ardeo fotografiert von Franziska Strauss

The four musicians of the French Quatuor Ardeo make their debut at the Heidelberger Frühling with Johann Sebastian Bach’s “Goldberg Variations”, this imaginative and artistic cycle of cheerful and contemplative, songful, dance-like and virtuoso pieces. François Meïmoun’s “orchestration” of the work, originally composed for two-manual harpsichord, allows the individual voices to stand out more clearly in the polyphonic movement and makes many passages audible that would tend to be lost on a keyboard instrument. This is also in keeping with Bach’s “Gemüths-Ergetzung”.

The concert is part of the focus point “Visionaries”.

Concert without intermission
Duration approx. 1.5 hours

Quatuor Ardeo

String quartet

Carole Petitdemange, Mi-Sa Yang

Yuko Hara

Joëlle Martinez

Johann Sebastian Bach
Goldberg Variations BWV 988 (arr. François Meïmoun)

We thank