The German-Korean piano trio from Munich, which has won several prizes, has chosen a fascinatingly complex term for its name: "Gaon" in Korean stands not only for "creating warmth", but also for the "center of the world". The centerpiece of this programme is Johannes Brahms' Second Trio of the early 1880s. Audibly oriented to Brahms is Antonín Dvořák's 1883 genre contribution in F minor, the Czech's most extensive and ambitious trio. Next to it, the "five short pieces" by his younger compatriot Bohuslav Martinů from 1930 appear sharply cut in a neoclassical manner.

Trio Gaon

Piano trio

Tae-Hyung Kim

Jehye Lee

Samuel Lutzker

Bohuslav Martinů
Piano Trio No. 1 ("cinque pieces brèves")

Johannes Brahms
Piano Trio No. 2 in C major op. 87

Antonín Dvořák
Piano Trio No. 3 in F minor op. 65

We thank