Afternoon Concert
Cuarteto Quiroga. Quatuor Agate

Half-day ticket 14:00-17:30 incl. workshop with Oliver Wille at 16:00

"That was a guy! How miserable we are against such things!" – Johannes Brahms is said to have commented about Joseph Haydn. In any case, he repeatedly expressed his enthusiasm for the Viennese classicist, and in 1885 he even acquired the handwritten score of his six string quartets, op. 20. The G minor quartet from it is strikingly short-winded, full of tension and experimental. Béla Bartók's sixth string quartet has lighter moments and exhibits humorous traits, but more and more sadness gains the upper hand in it. Composed in 1939, the year in which the Second World War broke out and his mother died, it also became the last work for the Hungarian to be completed while still at home. He then emigrated to the USA.

Concert without intermission

Cuarteto Quiroga

Quatuor Agate

Joseph Haydn
String Quartet G minor op. 20/3

Béla Bartók
String Quartet No. 6